top of page

Do Not Be Overcome By evil But Overcome evil With Good – Surrendering My Mind To Be Renewed By God

Hello friends and welcome back to The Book of Romans Series. Today we are exploring chapter twelve.


Therefore, I urge you, brothers and sisters, in view of God’s mercy, to offer your bodies as living sacrifice, holy, and pleasing to God – this is your true and proper worship. Do not conform to the pattern of this world, but be transformed by the renewing of your mind. Then you will be able to test and approve what God’s will is – his good, pleasing, and perfect will. (Verses 1 & 2)


This, my friends, is the verse that inspired me to do this series on Romans. It is a new year and a clean slate; so, think it is a perfect time, with how crazy the world is right now, to let your mind be renewed by God. Let Him change that way you think, not this crazy world.


It’s a good time to offer your bodies as a living sacrifice – surrender, my word for 2021. And that is my main goal for this year. To let God change the way I think. To surrender what I think I know to make space for God’s wisdom and understanding. To surrender my heart to God so I can gain love. To surrender my life to God, my body as living sacrifice, so that my time on this earth was well spent and that I can have purpose and value.


It has been less than a month in this new year and I have already gained some of these things. I’ve gained more understanding from God than I have in decades! I’ve gained more confidence already because anytime I’m hard on myself, like I have been my entire life, God sends me tender whispers of love that say, "You are favored." "Did I not make you with My own hand?" "Are you not made in My image?" "Did I not mold you? – Did I not spend time on creating you?" Yet, at the same time, He has kept me humble.


Sometimes God feels so far away, like I can never grasp Him. But I have been touched by God. I was created by Him. He made me exactly how He wanted me to be. How can I complain about how I look or sound if the perfect God Almighty formed me like this?


For by the grace given me I say to every one of you: Do not think of yourself more highly than you ought, but rather think of yourself with sober judgement, in accordance with the faith God has distributed to each of you. For just as each of us has one body with many members, and these members did not all have the same function, so in Christ we, though many, form one body, and each member belongs to all the others. We have different gifts, according to the grace given to each of us. If your gift is prophesying, then prophesy in accordance with your faith; if it is serving, then serve; If it is teaching, then teach; if it is to encourage, then give encouragement; if it is giving, then give generously; if it is to lead, do it diligently, if is to show mercy, do it cheerfully. (Verses 3-8)


When God created us, He gave us all gifts or talents. There is something that we are good at. He gave us those gifts to help others and advance His kingdom. I try to keep this on my mind ever since I heard it, and I cannot remember where I heard it, but every time I go to do something I (try) to think to myself: “Does this praise God or bless others?” and if it is a no I try to rethink the action that I was about to do.


I hope that my talent is writing. Because not only does it help myself, because writing has always been good for my mind, but it blesses others (at least I like to think it does) and it praises God when I write about God. Which I do in every blog. If my gift is not writing, because there are obviously people who are better at it than me, then I like to think it is making things to give to people. I used to do this more often than I do now but I would like to pick up the habit again.


Love must be sincere. Hate what is evil; cling to what is good. Be devoted to one another in love. Honor one another above yourselves. Never be lacking in zeal, but keep your spiritual fervor, serving the Lord. Be joyful in hope, patient in affliction, faithful in prayer. Share with the Lord’s people who are in need. Practice hospitality. (Verses 9-13)


Love each other! Help each other with your gifts! Have joy and hope! Be patient and faithful! And serve the Lord! This seems like simple stuff. So, why do we have such a hard time with it? God isn’t asking us to jump through rings of fire. He only asks us to love each other and serve Him.


Bless those who those who persecute you; bless and do not curse. Rejoice with those who rejoice; mourn with those who mourn. Live in harmony with one another. Do not be proud, but be willing to associate with people of low position. Do not be conceited. (Verses 14-16)


This reminds of when me and my now hubby were dating and when people would cut him off in traffic or drive carelessly. Instead of cursing or giving them an ugly gesture, he rolled the window down and yelled, “God bless you!” while waving his hand. And I think this is a good example of how we can take this message and use it in our daily lives. It is a good way to break bad habits. So, next time someone cuts you off in traffic or says something ugly to you, just say, “God bless you!” I guarantee that they it will make them step back and think.


I asked my husband where he picked up this habit and he said it was from a comedian. He cannot remember which one or I would add the name of the comedian for you, but regardless I think it is just awesome.


Do not repay anyone evil for evil. Be careful to do what is right in the eyes of everyone. If it is possible, as far as it depends on you, live at peace with everyone. Do not take revenge, my dear friends, but leave room for God’s wrath, for it is written: “It is mine to avenge; I will repay,” says the Lord. (Verses 17-19)


That reminds me what I wrote yesterday. In short, I said talk about God freely and let anyone who has words to argue about it, waste their breath. Because when this life is over, they will see the truth for themselves.


When you think about this it makes sense. Because we are the children and God is the Father. When you are a kid, and you see your sibling do something they aren’t suppose to. You don’t step in and handle it, you let the parent handle it. You don’t have to play tattle-tell either, for God already knows our every thought, word, and action. Let God handle it. Don’t let arguing and letting things people say prohibit you from speaking about God. Don’t be ashamed.


On the contrary:

“If your enemy is hungry, feed him: if he is thirsty, give him something to drink. In doing this, you will heap burning coals on his head.”

Do not be overcome by evil but overcome evil with good. (Verses 20 & 21)


In response to this. I want you to watch a video by Brooks Gibbs. I will link it for you here: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=7oKjW1OIjuw


So, this video is specific to bullying, but is also a good example of fighting evil with evil vs fighting evil with good. Good beats out evil and makes the evil doer (or bully in this example) feel bad for their actions. I encourage you to watch the video. Although it is not Christian based it is Christian friendly and Brooks makes some really good points in it.


My friends, go out and be the mighty warriors of God I know you can be. Don’t let anyone’s words hold you back from that. Overcome evil with good. And…


“Live in such a way that if someone should speak badly of you, no one would believe it.”


And smile! You are favored. Let that give you confidence without taking away your humility. Today, I surrender my mind to be renewed by God.

Comments


Thank you for reading my blog. I hope your coffee is good and your heart is filled with joy. 

Subscribe to my mailing list

Thanks for subscribing!

About the writer:
pic_edited.jpg
  • Facebook
  • Pinterest

Find something to smile about today.

bottom of page