top of page

Dropping Emptiness And Sprouting Purpose From God


Hello friends and welcome to Blogtober. This year’s concept is an autumnal metaphor that I came up with: In fall, trees drop dry, decaying leaves that are not beneficial to the tree. In the same manner, uswhobelieve, can drop things (at the feet of Jesus) that are not beneficial. And, just as the trees sprout new leaves, we can replace our ‘dead leaves’ with good.


Our ‘dead leaf’ that we can drop today is: Emptiness.

“For I know the plans I have for you,” declares the Lord, “plans to prosper you and not to harm you, plans to give you hope and a future."

Jeremiah 29:11


Google defines emptiness as lacking meaning or sincerity. Here in Jeremiah, it says that He has a plan for you – plans to give you a future! If that is the case, and we know it to be because the word of God is true, we do not lack anything – He will give us what we need. If He is our Shepard, we shall not want.


So is my word that goes out from my mouth: It will not return to me empty, but will accomplish what I desire and achieve the purpose for which I sent it.

Isaiah 55:11


God’s words are not empty promises. He will accomplish everything according to His purpose, and we are a part of that purpose.


For whoever wants to save their life will lose it, but whoever loses their life for me will find it.

Matthew 16:25


When we live our lives for us, we will lose our lives, but when we give our lives to God is when we truly find it and it’s when we find purpose. Purpose always has a way of chasing away the emptiness.


And we know that in all things God works for the good of those who love him, who have been called according to his purpose.

Romans 8:28


Not only do we truly find our lives when we give it up to God, but we know that He is not going to withhold one good thing from those who love him. He will supply us with goodness!


Our ‘leaf’ of emptiness has fallen away and now we can sprout purpose from God. We have purpose! If that isn’t a reason to smile, I don’t know what is.



Thank you for reading my blog. I hope your coffee is good and your heart is filled with joy. 

Subscribe to my mailing list

Thanks for subscribing!

About the writer:
pic_edited.jpg
  • Facebook
  • Pinterest

Find something to smile about today.

Tell me what brought you joy today

Thanks for submitting!

© 2020 by Ashley Hope. Proudly created with Wix.com

bottom of page