top of page

Dropping Fear Of Persecution And Sprouting Rejoicement

Hello friends! I know it's been almost a month and I know that I never finished Blogtober, but that doesn't mean I want to drop it. My life just got a little hectic and I had a full plate so something had to give and unfortunately it was my blog (not to mention I had major writers burnout). Thank you guys for bearing with me and I hope you guys understand. I'm also going to change up my posting days to give myself more realistic standards with my current schedule so, I will only post once a week (every Thursday). I also want to take this time to apologize to my subscribers for no newsletter for this month.


So, what is the next step?


Even though it is no longer October, I still want to continue on with my Blogtober theme. We can just give it a new name - how about 'Dropping Dead Leaves'. I think it's still an appropriate time for a fall name, after all. I will try to do my best to finish this new/not new series before fall is over, so I might add several 'leaves to drop' in each blog. I think the fall metaphor is still appropriate too, so I will put it here for those who may not have seen it:


This year’s concept is an autumnal metaphor that I came up with: In fall, trees drop dry, decaying leaves that are not beneficial to the tree. In the same manner, uswhobelieve, can drop things (at the feet of Jesus) that are not beneficial. And, just as the trees sprout new leaves, we can replace our ‘dead leaves’ with good.


Our ‘dead leaf’ that we can drop today is: fear of persecution.

Google defines persecution as persistent annoyance or harassment.


In fact, everyone who wants to live a godly life in Christ Jesus will be persecuted.

2 Timothy 3:12


Unfortunately, at some point we as Christians are going to be persecuted, but we can shake it off and rejoice. Despite everything, we can be glad:


Blessed are those who are persecuted because of righteousness, for theirs is the kingdom of heaven. Blessed are you when people insult you, persecute you and falsely say all kinds of evil against you because of me. Rejoice and be glad, because great is your reward in heaven, for in the same way they persecuted the prophets who were before you.

Matthew 5:10-11


Our reward in Heaven is much greater than anything we can go through here on the earth.



But I tell you, love your enemies and pray for those who persecute you, that you may be children of your Father in heaven.

Matthew 5:44


Let’s pray for our persecutors because, most likely, they aren't believers. So, pray for the Father to draw them near.


That is why, for Christ’s sake, I delight in weaknesses, in insults, in hardships, in persecutions, in difficulties. For when I am weak I am strong.

2 Corinthians 12:10


When we take up our cross and struggle for Christ’s sake, we aren’t weak, but strong!


Who shall separate us from the love of Christ? Shall trouble or hardship or persecutions or famine or nakedness or danger or sword?

Romans 8:35


Being persecuted cannot separate us from the love of God, not even if it leads to death. So, let’s take up our cross and rejoice in what is to come after this life of persecution.


Our ‘leaf’, or our fear of persecution, has fallen away and now we can sprout rejoicement (not a real word I know) Speaking of rejoicing…


There is always joy to be found and joy to be had.



Thank you for reading my blog. I hope your coffee is good and your heart is filled with joy. 

Subscribe to my mailing list

Thanks for subscribing!

About the writer:
pic_edited.jpg
  • Facebook
  • Pinterest

Find something to smile about today.

Tell me what brought you joy today

Thanks for submitting!

© 2020 by Ashley Hope. Proudly created with Wix.com

bottom of page