top of page

My Testimony – Surrendering to The Good News


Hello friends and welcome back to The Book of Romans Series. I want to, first off, say that I didn't post a blog yesterday because I was taking the day off to spend with my Hubby since it was his birthday. I normally would have posted a blog to say that I was taking the day off, but I completely forgot. I apologize and am ready to hop back into this series after a long weekend! Today we are exploring chapter ten.


Friday, we went over this in verse 27 of chapter 9:

Though the number of the Israelites be like the sand by the sea, only the remnant will be saved. For the Lord will carry out his sentence on earth with speed and finality.”


And how, similarly, the number of the people on this earth are the same - like the sand in the sea. And only a portion will be saved. Today Paul continues on the same topic – being saved.


Brothers and sisters, my heart’s desire and prayer to God for the Israelites is that they may be saved. For I can testify about them that they are zealous for God, but their zeal is not based on knowledge. Since they did not know the righteousness of God and sought to establish their own, they did not submit to God’s righteousness. Christ is the culmination of the law so that there may be righteousness for everyone who believes. (Verses 1-4)


Just like how the 27 verse of the last chapter remains the same today, so does this:

Since they did not know the righteousness of God and sought to establish their own, they did not submit to God’s righteousness.


For example: If a man shot someone who stole his wallet and killed them, he might think himself morally right and that it was justifiable to do so. But the Bible says when someone steals your coat give them your shirt also. Not to mention the Bible says not to kill. If indeed this is what is in the Bible, and therefore is moral and justifiable, is the man who shot the thief morally right to have done so?


It is not only those who do not believe that does this, but believers. How often do we push God to the side and try to establish our own righteousness? How often do we put our own idea or concept of what is morally right and justifiable over God’s true description of righteousness?


Moses writes this about righteousness that is by law: “The person who does these things will live by them.” But the righteousness that is by faith says: “Do not say in your heart, ‘Who will ascend into heaven?” (that is, to bring Christ down) “or ‘Who will descend into the deep?’ “ (that is, to bring Christ up from the dead). But what does it say? “The word is near you; it is in your mouth and in your heart,” that is, the message concerning faith that we proclaim: If you declare with your mouth, “Jesus is Lord,” and you believe in your heart that God raised him from the dead, you will be saved. For it is with your heart that you believe and are justified, and it is with your mouth that you profess your faith and are saved. As Scripture says, “Anyone who believes in him will never be put to shame.” For there is no difference between Jew and Gentile – the same Lord is Lord of all richly blesses all who call on him, for, “Everyone who calls on the name of the Lord will be saved.” (Verses 5-13)


Thankfully, we are accredited righteousness from faith in Christ Jesus. Thankfully, we do not declare our own righteousness because our perception of righteousness would be false. Only God’s righteousness is true righteousness. Thankfully:


If you declare with your mouth, “Jesus is Lord,” and you believe in your heart that God raised him from the dead, you will be saved. (Verse 9)


Thankfully, it is by faith alone and not by our works, for we know now (from chapter four) that evil is always right there even when we do good. God knew we would fall short, so He made a way where there was none. THANKFULLY! – THANKS BE TO GOD!


How, then, can they call on the one they have not believed in? And how can they believe in the one of whom they have not heard? And how can they hear without someone preaching to them? And how can anyone preach unless they are sent? As it is written: “How beautiful are the feet of those who bring good news!” (Verses 14 & 15)


I love that: ‘How beautiful are the feet of those who bring good news!’. Isn’t it wonderful that God doesn’t have us be the barrier of bad news, but of GOOD NEWS! We can look into the eyes of another and confidently say, “There is hope for salvation!” We are called mighty servants, barriers of good news, and, arguably, ones with beautiful feet. I hope that made you smile. I chuckled at the thought of that myself.


But not all the Israelites accepted the good news. For Isaiah says, “Lord, who has believed our messages?” Consequently; faith come from hearing the message, and the message is heard through the word about Christ. But I ask: Did they not hear? Of course they did:


“Their voice has gone out into all the earth, their words to the ends of the world.” (Verses 16-18)


We are to be the barriers of good news, but we must know that, though the people we tell about it will hear it, not all will accept it. It is not our job to force them to accept it either. Some people God will draw to Him, but others He will not. So, for us who He did draw to Him; we should be thankful. And because we cannot force people to the Father, then force is not the way to go about it at all. The strategy is love. Love those who you share the good new with, as it says, ‘Love thy neighbor’. After all, isn’t it more wonderful to hear good news from someone who loves you and is kind then from someone who doesn’t and isn’t?


You may ask, “If some won’t accept it, then what is the point of going out of our way to share the news at all?” Because you never know who you will bring to the Father that will accept it. You might just change some lives!


Again I ask: Did the Israel not understand? First, Moses says,

“I will make you envious by those who are not a nation; I will make you angry by a nation that has no understanding.”


And Isaiah boldly says,

“I was found by those who did not seek me; I revealed myself to those who did not ask for me.”


But concerning Israel he says,

“All day long I have held out my hands to a disobedient and obstinate people.”


Verses 18-33. Sometimes when we sow a seed of the good news in someone, we might not see that seed grow; it grows without us knowing - we do not see the fruits of our labor. And sometimes the seed we sow will grow right in front of our eyes; and other times, it will not grow at all. Just like in Isaiah, though Isaiah had been sought out especially by the Lord to bring the people to the faith; he struggled.


But for us whose soil was just right for the seed of faith to be planted in our hearts; we now have a story of how it came about - a testimony! And everyone’s testimonies are different. And now that I think of it, I haven’t told you mine yet. Have I?


Well, I was in middle school. One day I found a flyer on the wall about a group of Christians that gathered in the auditorium every Wednesday and I decided to go one day. I sat halfway back where I was not visible, but I could still see and hear the people on the stage clearly. They asked if there was anyone in the room had not accepted Jesus Christ into their life. I had not.


Of course, I knew of Jesus, but I knew very little about Him. Then they asked those who had not accepted him to pray a prayer with them. I repeated every word they said and meant it. Then they asked for all who had prayed to come up on the stage so they could congratulate them and pray for them personally. As shy as I was, I was absolutely NOT going to do that. So, I left the room with the rest of the people who hadn’t went on the stage.


I felt that yearning in my heart. I knew it was God. All week I felt it but, at the time, I did not know how to discern it. Though I knew exactly what He was asking me to do. So, the following Wednesday, I went to the auditorium and, after the prayer, I went up on that stage with confidence that I didn’t know I could possess. I got prayed for and it was good.


Then, once I left the auditorium, a boy from my class was standing in the hall waiting for me. He said, “Hey, congratulations Ashley. I am so proud of you for getting up on the stage!” He knew how shy and quiet I was, and I think God spoke through him that day because I desperately needed to hear that.

I got baptized shortly after that at the church we went to at the time. And there is, my testimony. I know this made this blog longer, but I hope you enjoyed it regardless.


Today, I surrender to the good news – Jesus died for my sins. I am saved and forgiven. Now, I would proudly walk on a stage today and shout “Jesus is Lord!”








Comentários


Thank you for reading my blog. I hope your coffee is good and your heart is filled with joy. 

Subscribe to my mailing list

Thanks for subscribing!

About the writer:
pic_edited.jpg
  • Facebook
  • Pinterest

Find something to smile about today.

bottom of page