top of page

Purpose And Light

Your word is a lamp for my feet,

a light on my path.

Psalms 119:105


Hello again friends! It's a beautiful day here in Okinawa. Turns out I'm not going to see any of that beautiful fall weather that I've heard you guys have been having in the states. At least not until much later. The coldest it gets in the winter here in 60 degrees, so the hot muggy weather lives on. But there has been a lovely breeze lately.


Life isn't always clear and sunny though. Sometimes we walk through dark valleys. But Psalm 119 shows us where light emanates from. Your word is a lamp for my feet, a light on my path. God's teachings, the bible, illuminates our path. His word will guide us through the darkness. He teaches us how to stay on the right path, the good path. I have kept my feet from every evil path so that I might obey your word. (verse 101)


Doesn't He teach us so graciously? How sweet are you words to my taste, sweeter than honey to my mouth! (verse 103) He does this for our sake. So we don't keep this earthly mindset. So we don't give into our earthly desires. So that we stay focused on what is ahead, instead of looking at what's behind. And most importantly that we keep our gaze upwards, to Him. Because that is when we truly live and where we find a purposeful life. It comes though Him; when we have a relationship with him.


This dark world is never going to make us feel fulfilled. Only with God do we feel true happiness. We feel the warmth from His light. We are no longer cold dead bodies aimlessly stumbling around in the dark, but we are revived warm servants following His light and fulfilling something bigger than us. We find elegant, divine, wonderful purpose. He opens our once shut eyes. In the last part of our Ephesians series, Paul said to keep your feet fitted with the readiness that comes from the gospel of peace. I think that could fit here too.


So smile today, my friends. Let that warmth shine on you. God will lead you where you need to go. All you need to do is follow. So follow His light. I'm smiling at this beautiful day. Actually I think I'll go take in some of that sunshine now.



Comments


Thank you for reading my blog. I hope your coffee is good and your heart is filled with joy. 

Subscribe to my mailing list

Thanks for subscribing!

About the writer:
pic_edited.jpg
  • Facebook
  • Pinterest

Find something to smile about today.

bottom of page