top of page

The Birth of Jesus Foretold

Hello friends! Welcome to the twelve days of Christmas (Blog Edition) where we go over the birth of Jesus Christ; the true reason for the season. I will be referencing the New International version of the Bible. I also will be including verses from Luke and Matthew on the account of Christ’s Birth throughout the next twelve days. I really hope that this will be a good way to lead up to the most wonderful day of the year and that you guys will enjoy it. Today we will read about when the angel, Gabriel, appeared to Mary.


Luke 1:26-38 The Birth of Jesus Foretold

In the sixth month, God sent the angel Gabriel to Nazareth, a town in Galilee, to a virgin pledged to be married to a man named Joseph, a descendant of David. The virgin’s name was Mary. The angel went to her and said, “Greetings, you who are highly favored! The Lord is with you.”

Mary was greatly troubled at his words and wondered what kind of greeting this might be. But the angel said to her, “Do not be afraid, Mary, you have found favor with God. You will be with child and give birth to a son and you are to give him the name Jesus. He will be great and will be called the Son of the Most High. The Lord God will give him the throne of his father David, and he will reign over the house of Jacob forever; his kingdom will never end.”

“How will this be,” Mary asked the angel, “since I am a virgin?”

The angel answered, “The Holy Spirit will come upon you, and the power of the Most High will overshadow you. So the holy one to be born will be called the Son of God. Even Elizabeth your relative is going to have a child in her old age, and she is who was said to be barren is in her sixth month. For nothing is impossible with God.”

“I am the Lord’s servant,” Mary answered, “My it be me as you have said.” Then the angel left her.


I can’t help but wonder how Mary felt, seeing that angel and finding out she will be a pregnant virgin. It seems impossible to grasp because, in our earthly minds, it is impossible. But just as the angel said, ‘nothing is impossible with God’. Mary did not seem shaken. I just love her reply, “I am the Lord’s servant.” She trusted God so much that she let it be as God had planned. I can imagine that she probably smiled after the angel left her.


My friends, find something to smile about today, even if your situation seems impossible to grasp or deal with, because nothing is impossible with God. I would like to be that kind of servant. Whenever God asks me to do something, I want to say, “I am the Lord’s servant. May it be as He has said.”




Comentarios


Thank you for reading my blog. I hope your coffee is good and your heart is filled with joy. 

Subscribe to my mailing list

Thanks for subscribing!

About the writer:
pic_edited.jpg
  • Facebook
  • Pinterest

Find something to smile about today.

bottom of page