top of page

"To be marked is to be sacred"

Hello friends! I have decided to do another series here on my blog. This time I will go over another book of the bible; Noting what sticks out to me and sharing it with you. I choose the book of Ephesians. I think there's a lot of wisdom in this book. I'm excited to see where it takes us. There are 6 chapters in this book. So 6 blogs until its completion. Lets start with chapter 1.


Verse 4-6, 'For He chose us in Him before the creation of the world to be holy and blameless in his sight. In love He predestined us for adoption to sonship through Jesus Christ, in accordance with His pleasure and will.' God had His sons and daughters picked out before He created the world. You're name came from His mouth before a star was set in the sky. Before the mountains peaked. Before the sea was filled. Doesn't that just make you shiver in awe? He chose us who believe in him to be blameless in his sight. To be washed white from all of our sins through Jesus Christ on the cross. Isn't that incredible? We were PREDESTINED. Verse 11 also says we were chosen.


Verse 13-14, 'And you also were included in Christ when you heard the message of truth, the gospel of your salvation. When you believed, you were marked in him with a seal, the promised Holy Spirit, who is a deposit guaranteeing our inheritance until the redemption of those who are Gods possession.' When I read to be marked; I felt God say, "To be marked is to be sacred." When I looked up that definition; I got that Holy Ghost chill. Sacred: connected with God or dedicated to a religious purpose and so deserving veneration. I knew what sacred meant of course, but I'd never imagine that's the way God looks at me. And veneration means respect. God thinks I'm deserving of respect?! That's mind blowing to me. But God loves me. I am God's possession; I am the daughter of the one true king.


Verse 18-19, 'I pray that the eyes of your heart may be enlightened in order that you may know the hope to which he has called you, the riches of his glorious inheritance in his holy people , and his incomparably great power for uswhobelieve.' That isn't a typo on my part. I know I do alot of those, but it was written that way, uswhobelieve. I can imagine that replacing 'christian'. Us who believe. We are sacred. We are God's.


Verse 23 mentions that He is the fullness who fills everything in every way. And does He ever. If you think of that analogy, Fill your cup so you can fill other's. His cup would be the one that overflows. His cup would be a fountain for our cups; So we can hold them out to catch the cascading water. And that fountain flows from Christ. Because He is the reason we have the cups. And the water is crimson.


I hope you guys enjoyed the first blog of my series. I hope you tune in to the others. And I hope that God doesn't hold back those whispers. I'm smiling today because I am sacred, and if you are uswhobelive, you are too. And that my friends is something to find joy in.


Thank you for reading my blog. I hope your coffee is good and your heart is filled with joy. 

Subscribe to my mailing list

Thanks for subscribing!

About the writer:
pic_edited.jpg
  • Facebook
  • Pinterest

Find something to smile about today.

Tell me what brought you joy today

Thanks for submitting!

© 2020 by Ashley Hope. Proudly created with Wix.com

bottom of page