top of page

Zechariah’s Song

Hello friends! Welcome back to the twelve days of Christmas (Blog Edition), where we go over the birth of Jesus Christ; the true reason for the season. It is the fifth day. Today let’s look at Zechariah’s song.


Luke 1: 67-80: Zechariah’s Song

His father Zechariah was filled with the Holy Spirit and prophesied:

“Praise be to the Lord, the God of Israel, because he has come and has redeemed his people.

He has raised up a horn of salvation for us in the house of his servant David (as thought his holy prophets of long ago), salvation from our enemies and from the hand of all who hate us – to show mercy to our fathers and to remember his holy covenant, the oath he swore to our father Abraham: to rescue us from the hand of our enemies, and to enable us to serve him without fear in holiness and righteousness before him all our days.

And you, my child, will be called a prophet of the Most High; for you will go on before the Lord to prepare the way for him, to give his peoples the knowledge of the salvation through the forgiveness of their sins, because of the tender mercy of our God, by which the rising sun will come to us from heaven to shine on those living in darkness and in the shadow of death, to guide our feet into the path of peace.”

And the child grew and became strong in spirit; and he lived in the desert until he appeared publicly to Israel.


Zechariah was so full of the Holy Spirit after John the Baptist birth that he praised God. He sang about the babe Jesus that would be their salvation and about his Son who would be a prophet of the Most High.


I love how moved Zechariah was. He could have complained that it took so long to get a child of his own because remember his wife, Elizabeth, was barren and in her old age, but he praised God! I want to be a little bit like Zechariah. To forget about my worldly problems and just sing about the fact that Jesus was born and died for my sake. So, today I praise God, regardless of things I lack in my own life. I invite you to join me and to smile today.

Comments


Thank you for reading my blog. I hope your coffee is good and your heart is filled with joy. 

Subscribe to my mailing list

Thanks for subscribing!

About the writer:
pic_edited.jpg
  • Facebook
  • Pinterest

Find something to smile about today.

bottom of page