top of page

He Gives us Purpose

But I have raised you up for this very purpose, that I might show you my power and that my name might be proclaimed in all the earth.

Exodus 9:16


Hello friends! Welcome back to Blogtober! Today is day thirty. Our comfort today is that God gives us purpose. To learn how He gives us our purpose, let’s first learn about His purpose. His purpose is to save us by drawing us close to Him so that we might truly live and that we will lead others to him so that they will truly live also. And so that His name will be proclaimed in all the earth. But what does the word say about His purpose?


HIS PURPOSE:

But the plans of the LORD stand firm forever, the purposes of his heart through all generations. Psalm 33:11


The LORD almighty has sworn, “Surely as I have planned, so it will be, and as I have purposed, so it will happen.” Isaiah 14:24


Remember this from things, those of long ago, I am God, and there is no other; I am God, and there is none like me. I make known end from the beginning, from ancient times, what is still to come. I say, ‘My purpose will stand, and I will do all what I please.’ From the east I summon a bird of prey; from a far-off land, a man to fulfill my purpose. What I have said, that I will bring about; what I have planned, that I will do. Isaiah 46:9-11


So is my word that goes out from my mouth; it will not return to me empty, but will accomplish what I desire and achieve the purpose for which I sent it. Isaiah 55:11


From this we can gather:

  • His plans stand firm forever. They will happen!

  • It is His plan that prevails, not ours.

  • There is only one God and He will do what He pleases.

  • He summoned man to fulfill His purpose.


He is all knowing and only does good. So, His purpose is only good. I don’t know about you, but I feel so blessed; I mean to think that I could be worthy to even help fulfill His plan is more than I deserve. I don’t deserve to even be able to serve Him. I am nothing, but with Him, I have purpose.


I am the vine; you are the branches. If you remain in me and I in you, you will bear much fruit; apart from me you can do nothing. John 15:5


We can do nothing apart from God. It is only when we are called to His purpose that we have purpose.


WE ARE SET APART/APPOINTED/CHOSEN/PREDESTINED/CALLED:

“Before I formed you in the womb I knew you, before you were born I set you apart; I appointed you as a prophet to the nations.” Jeremiah 1:5


But when God, who set me apart from my mother’s womb and called me by his grace, was pleased to reveal his Son in me so that I might preach him among the Gentiles, my immediate response was not to consult any human being. Galatians 1:15-16


In him we were also chosen having been predestined according to the plan of him who works out everything in conformity with the purpose of his will. Ephesians 1:11


And we know that in all things God works for the good of those who love him who have been called according to his purpose. For those who God foreknew he also predestined to be conformed to the image of his Son, that he might be the firstborn among many brothers and sisters. And those he predestined he also called: those he called, he also justified; those he justified, he also glorified. Romans 8:28-30


But you are a chosen people, a royal priesthood, a holy nation, God’s special possession, that you may declare the praises of him who called you out of darkness into his wonderful light. 1 Peter 2:9


From this we can gather:

  • He knew us before He formed us in the womb. We are predestined

  • Uswhobelieve, we are set apart

  • We are called by grace

  • His Son is in us

  • We are chosen

  • God works for the good of those who love him. We who are called.

He does things for our good. What a wonderful sovereign God! He draws us close so that we can truly live and have purpose.


THE TRUE LIFE/THE HOLY LIFE/THE LIGHT OF LIFE:

For whoever wants to save their life will lose, but whoever loses their life for me will find it. Matthew 16:25


When Jesus spoke again to the people, he said, “I am the light of the world. Whoever follows me will never walk in darkness, but will have the light of life.” John 8:12


He has saved us and called us to a holy life – not because of anything we have done but because of his own purpose and grace. This grace was given to us in Christ Jesus before the beginning of time. 2 Timothy 1:9


From this we can gather:

  • Whoever gives their life to God will find it.

  • Whoever follows Jesus has the light of life.

  • He has saved us and called us to a holy life, not because of what we have done, but because of what He has done. He died to give us grace and purpose.


Only when we give our lives to Him, do we truly live. Only then do we have consistent happiness and the light of life. Jesus died for this. Because Jesus died and rose from the dead, His Spirit can dwell within us. In our hearts.


HE IS IN US/AT WORK IN US:

Do you not know that your bodies are temples of the Holy Spirit, who is in you, whom you have received from God? You are not you own; you were brought at a price, therefore honor God with your bodies. 1 Corinthians 6:19-20


Now to him who is able to do immeasurably more than all we ask or imagine, according to his power that is at work with in us. Ephesians 3:20


Therefore, my dear friends, as you have always obeyed – not only in my presence, but now much more in my absence – continue to work out your salvation with fear and trembling, for it is God who works in you, to will and to act in order to fulfill his good purpose. Philippians 2:12-13


From this we can gather:

  • His Holy Spirit dwells in our bodies, so we must honor God with our bodies.

  • His power is at work within us.

  • He leads us so that we will act in order to fulfill His good purpose.

He leads us to fulfill His purpose. Thus we have duties.


OUR DUTY/REQUIREMENTS:

Now all has been heart; here is the conclusion of the matter; Fear God and keep his commandments, for this is the duty of all mankind. Ecclesiastes 12:13


He has shown you, O mortal, what is good. And what does the LORD require of you? To act justly and to love mercy and to walk humbly with your God. Micah 6:8


We must hold firmly to the trust-worthy message as it has been taught, so that he can encourage others by sound doctrine and refuse those who oppose it. Titus 1:9


From this we can gather:

  • Our duty is to keep His commandments.

  • The Lord requires us to act justly and to love mercy. To walk humbly with God.

  • We are to hold firmly to His word and use it to encourage others.


I know what you might be thinking. If we are saved by grace, why do we need to do any of this stuff. If we don’t keep His commandments, if we don’t act justly, and if we don’t read his word; He has already forgiven us, right? Yes, my friends, you are forgiven, but if you truly love God and walk with Him; then you should want to do what your Father has asked. We are like children who cannot see why these things are necessary. So, don’t lean on your own understanding because you cannot see what is ahead. You cannot see the whole picture, but your Father can. And if we don’t not obey Him; we get lost and off the path.


We are to hold firmly to His word and use it to bring others to Him. Why? So that they too can be saved and live the light of life! Everything we do; we should do for His glory.


DO EVERYTHING FOR HIS GLORY:

So whether you eat or drink or whatever you do, do it all for the glory of God. 1 Corinthians 10:31


Whatever you do, work at it with all your heart, as working for the Lord, not for human masters, since you know that you will receive an inheritance from the Lord as a reward. It is the Lord Christ you are serving. Colossians 3:23-24


Each of you should use whatever gift you have received to serve others, as faithful stewards of God’s grace comes in various forms. If anyone speaks, they should do so as one who speaks the very words of God. If anyone serves, they should do so with the strength God provides, so that in all things God may be praised through Jesus Christ. To him be the glory and the power forever and ever. Amen. 1 Peter 4:10-11


From this we can gather:

  • Whatever you do, do it for the glory of God and work at it with all your heart.

  • Whatever He has given you, use it to serve others.

  • If you speak, speak the words of God.

  • If you serve, serve God with the strength He provides.


Keep your eyes on the prize - eternal life. You are saved from the pit. You have the light of life! So, lead others to Him so that they may have the same. Let His name be proclaimed in all the earth! Take joy and comfort in the fact that you have purpose through God!


Comments


Thank you for reading my blog. I hope your coffee is good and your heart is filled with joy. 

Subscribe to my mailing list

Thanks for subscribing!

About the writer:
pic_edited.jpg
  • Facebook
  • Pinterest

Find something to smile about today.

bottom of page