top of page

He Gives us Rest

“Come to me, all you that are weary and burdened, and I will give you rest. Take my yoke upon you and learn from me, for I am gentle and humble in heart, and you will find rest for your souls. For my yoke is easy and burden is light.”

Matthew 11:28-30


Hello friends! Welcome back to Blogtober! Today is day twenty-four. Our comfort today is that God gives us rest. The epitome of all comfort! So, let’s curl up with THE good book and look at what the Bible says about resting, renewing, and refreshing.


REST:

· The LORD replied, “My Presence will go with you, and I will give you rest.” Exodus 33:14

· “Praise be to the LORD, who has given rest to his people Israel just as he promised.” 1 Kings 8:56

· Like cattle that go down to the plain, they were given rest by the Spirit of the LORD. Isaiah 63:14

· “This is what the Sovereign LORD, the Holy One of Israel says: “In repentance and rest is your salvation, in quietness and trust is your strength.” Isaiah 30:15

Where His presence is there is rest. His Spirit is chock-full of it. His heart gentle and humble, thus His yoke is easy and light. Your salvation at the very core is rest and repentance.

REFRESH:

· He makes me lie down in green pastures, he lead me beside quiet waters, he refreshes my soul. Psalm 23:2

· I will refresh the wary and satisfy the faint. Jeremiah 31:25

· Repent, then, and turn to God, so that your sins may be wiped out, that times of refreshing may come from the Lord. Acts 3:19

He refreshes our soul when we are weary and faint. He clears us of our sins so that we can be refreshed. He is forgiving of our sins.

RENEW/RESTORE:

· Even youths grow tired and weary, and young men stumble and fall; but those who hope in the LORD will renew their strength. They will soar on wings like eagles; they will run and not grow weary, they will walk and not be faint. Isaiah 40:30-31

· Create in me a pure heart, O God, and renew a steadfast spirit within me. Do not cast me from your presence or take your Holy Spirit from me. Restore me to the joy of your salvation and grant me a willing spirit, to sustain me.

· Do not lie to each other, since you have taken off your old self with it’s practices and have put on the new self, which is being renewed in knowledge in the image of its Creator. Colossians 3:9-10

We all grow tired and weary and stumble and fall, but if we can put our hope in the Lord, He will renew our strength. And if we do put our hope in Him, then we are to take off our old selves that died with Christ and put on our new selves that is with God so that we can be renewed in knowledge.

There you go, friends. Let your Creator give you rest for your body. Let him renew your mind and refresh your soul. He is capable. He is able and willing. Put your hope in something permanent. The only permanent thing in this world. He will give you rest and purpose, but everything else will fail you. Rest in the Father with comfort and joy.


Commentaires


Thank you for reading my blog. I hope your coffee is good and your heart is filled with joy. 

Subscribe to my mailing list

Thanks for subscribing!

About the writer:
pic_edited.jpg
  • Facebook
  • Pinterest

Find something to smile about today.

bottom of page