top of page

He Talks to Us

My sheep listen to my voice; I know them, and they follow me. I give them eternal life, and they shall never perish no one will snatch them out of my hand.

John 10:27-28


Hello friends! Welcome back to Blogtober! Today is day seventeen. Our comfort today is that He talks to us. Some of you may be saying, “I have never heard the voice of God.” Well He talks to us in many different ways. Today I will go over those and hopefully encourage some you to be still and listen for that soft voice. Heads up it’s going to be a long one today.


Through His word (The Bible):

John 1:1: In the beginning was the Word, and the Word was with God, and the Word was God.


The biggest way God communicates with us is through the reading of His word. I am sure I’m not the only one who has heard this excuse before: “Well, if the Bible has existed for thousands of years how do we know it’s not been changed over time.” Well, I would think God is pretty protective over His word. Also, people have changed and altered it in the way of teaching it, but I will not get into that today. But ultimately if God created everything including us and protects us then He could protect His word.


1 Thessalonians 2:13: And we also thank God continually because, when you received the word of God, which you heard from us, you accepted it not as a human word, but as it actually is, the word of God, which is indeed at work in you who believe.


This verse talks about accepting the word of God as God’s words and not as human words. So, this goes to show that if you truly believe then you don’t worry about the whole ‘it could have been altered by humans over time’ thing.


2 Timothy 3:16-17: All Scripture is God-breathed and is useful for teaching, rebuking, correcting and training in righteousness, so that the servant of God may be thoroughly equipped for every good work.


It is God-breathed! We can also hear God through the teaching of the word.


Romans 10:17-18: Consequently, faith comes from hearing the message, and the message is heard through the word about Christ.


If you are lacking in faith, it tells you right there were to gain it. If you want to hear what God has to say. It is in THE good book.


Through the tender whispers of love:

Whether you turn to the right or to the left, your ears will hear a voice behind you, saying, “This is the way; walk in it.” Isaiah 30:21


Sometimes it is a tender whisper in your ear. And sometimes it’s that inner voice in your head that you know cannot come from you. If you have any doubt, trust me I had a hard time deciphering it at first. How do you know if it’s just your worldly mind or the voice of God? A good way is to cross reference it to God’s word, The Bible. The truth of the matter is that our worldly minds are not on the same track as God. We were born into sin after all and God is holy and blameless. So, naturally we don't think like His word.


And only through Christ can we be born again. Shedding sin like skin and born anew. We are shredding sin because we are forgiven. How did we become worthy to even be forgiven? Through the shedding of the blood of Jesus Christ. He saved us. Once we invite Jesus into our hearts, and become born again, we can hear him clearer. Because He is in our hearts and in our consciousness. He becomes our inner voice.


Hebrews 1:1-2: In the past God spoke to our ancestors through the prophets at many times and in various ways, but in these last days he has spoken to us by his Son, whom he appointed heir of all things, and through whom also he made the universe.


And there it is in black and white. Through His Son.


Through the Holy Spirit:

John 16:13: But when he, the Spirit of truth, come, he will not speak on his own; he will speak only what he hears and he will tell you what is yet to come.


Romans 8:26: In the same way, the Spirit helps us in our weakness. We do not know what we ought to pray for, but the Spirit himself intercedes for us through wordless groans.


Though the Bible says these words won’t be audible, they are none the less moving and powerful. It can be so moving and powerful that you can’t help but scream at the top of your lungs. To scream things like, “Jesus is LORD!” What we like to call that Holy Ghost fire. It builds in you until the Spirit takes over your words and emotions. It is an incredible feeling. It leaves me trembling in awe of the Father every single time.


Now that we’ve talked about how the Holy Ghost fire can take over our words. Another way that God communicates with us is revealed. His children that are moved with the Spirit can communicate the words of God to others. Mostly, at least in my experience, through the power of prayer.


Well, my friends there you have it. I’m sure I may have missed some ways. Don’t be afraid to tell me if I have. So be still and know He is God! Be still and listen for those tender whispers of love. Take comfort in them. He has so much to say. I think this long blog could be proof of that. Maybe that is another way after all. All that He brings to me, I write for you. But really, He wants a relationship with you and that involves communication on both parts. He hears us and responds in one way or another.


Jeremiah 33:2-3: “This is what the LORD says, he who made the earth, the LORD who formed it and established it – the LORD is his name. Call to me and I will answer you and tell you great and unsearchable things you do not know.”


Comments


Thank you for reading my blog. I hope your coffee is good and your heart is filled with joy. 

Subscribe to my mailing list

Thanks for subscribing!

About the writer:
pic_edited.jpg
  • Facebook
  • Pinterest

Find something to smile about today.

bottom of page